The Public Garden of Cherbourg was created in 1887. Located at the foot of Roule Mountain, it has a total area of 1,7 hectares. Two corner houses were built on the grounds in 1889.
Zoological park, it contains a pond fed by a stream descending from the Roule Mountain, in which ducks, and a swan from Cascaroba, are raised. One can discover a basin containing thick-coated seals. Other animals are on display in the great aviary and enclosures.
In 1892, a bust of Jean-François Millet, decorated with ornamental figures, was placed in the garden. The portico of the Abbaye du Voeu, discovered in 1892, is also on view.
Opposite the entrance to the avenue de Paris is a monument to the memory of the inhabitants of Cherbourg who gave their lives for France; it was inaugurated in 1924.
Surrounded by a children's playground, the last remaining bandstand of Cherbourg.